New Staples

Holla if you’re happy that it’s Friday!!!

To fuel up for the long day ahead, I made a super simple Egg Beaters + Feta + Mushroom omlette and wrapped it up between two low carb, high fiber whole wheat wraps from La Tortilla Factory.

Breakfast tortillas

One of my pet peeves with Publix is the lack of all-natural tortillas or wraps. The Publix in Lakeland offered no natural tortillas, and the Publix near my apartment in Orlando only had one natural option. I bit the pulled, plopped down my $4, and hoped for the best!

La Tortilla Factory Tortillas

At 50 calories, 2 grams of fat, 5 grams of protein and 7 grams of fiber each, the wraps were certainly a sensible choice, and while they were a bit denser than most other tortillas, the chewy factor was far more acceptable to me than a mile-long list of chemical additives. Looks like there’s a new staple in the Lovely as Charged kitchen!

Speaking of staples, I feel like last night’s dinner will be in semi-frequent rotation for quite some time as well!

red quinoa

I ended up mixing red quinoa, mushrooms and red pepper with a tablespoon of cream cheese, a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard and a liberal dash of sea salt. One part zesty, one part creamy…hit the spot 100 percent!

quinoa and zucchini

A zucchini lightly sautéed in olive oil rounded out the meal!

Some other LaC staples as of late:

Berry milkshakes for dessert (2 scoops Publix Brand All-Natural Vanilla Ice Cream, 1/2 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1/2 cup frozen blackberries, 1/2 cup fresh strawberries (I suppose frozen would work just as well, but it’s strawberry season here in Florida and almost every store is selling locally grown strawberries for no more than $1.50/box!)

berry milkshake

Fruitabu Fruit Flats – I found this on clearance at a health food store (Who could pass up a half serving of fruit for 15 cents?)

blog 2381

This is what happens when you cross Fruit Rollups with fruit leather, then give it an organic spin. Good stuff!

OPI Redipus Oedipus nail polish – Not only does the witty literary reference earn a bazillion brownie points, but the metallic red is super fun.

blog 2540

Boo to chubby fingers, nail-biting habits and hangnails.

Time to put those weird-ass lookin’ hands to work! Catch ya when it’s the weekend!

What have some of your staples been lately?

5 Comments on “New Staples”

  1. brandi says:

    ooh, I bet the cream cheese + mustard mix is great! i love spicy mustards. yum.

  2. that red quinoa is so pretty. i’ve got to try that!

  3. Smoothies have been a staple for me in the last couple weeks.

  4. Teresa says:

    Cannot believe those tortillas! 50 calories? How do they even do that?? My staple lately, and on quite the other hand, has been Ben & Jerry’s Chubby Hubby. Sad. But true.

  5. […] Breakfast this morning was quick. Even though I’m the queen of last-minute packing, I hate feeling rushed, so I’m trying to get as much done before work as possible! To save on time, I went for a simple egg/feta wrap in my favorite La Tortilla Factory tortillas: […]


Leave a Reply

