Berry Cheesecake Oatmeal

Some things in life are beyond explanation.

If Vitamin D supposedly gives you energy, why does spending several hours in the sun make you feel like you couldn’t move a muscle if you tried?

How does somebody (a certain blogger who shall remain nameless) get a sunburn in the middle of their armpit?

Why does Hungry Howies offer cajun-spiced pizza crusts? Is pizza not Italian?

Why is cheesecake not a breakfast item?

Maybe – just maybe – I have the perfect answer for the latter.

blog 2529

Berry Cheesecake Oats

Vegetarian, serves one

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen blackberries
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup (dry) steel cut oats
  • 1-2 tablespoons cream cheese
  • 1-2 tablespoons flax seed
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar

Directions:

  • In a small saucepan, bring water to a rapid boil.
  • Add in oats, allow to boil for two more minutes.
  • Add berries, remove from heat. Cover with a tight-fitting lid and allow to sit for 10 minutes.
  • Transfer to dish and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (surely an overnight oat version would also be awesome!)
  • Top with cream cheese and sprinkle the flax/brown sugar around the outer perimeter to serve as the “crust.”

blog 2527

The berries pop in the boiling water and create a thoroughly gooey, evenly distributed fruitiness to the oatmeal, while chilling the oats makes the dish even more reminiscent of the chilly dessert!

blog 2524

A sweet, almost dessert-like breakfast like cheesecake oats are the perfect segue from a weekend full of treats such as sangria, cake batter and pizza into a week of healthy, veggie-packed eats.

Are “Cheat Days” Really Only Cheating You?

During several of my many past “diets”, I adhered to a rigid plan during the week yet designated weekends to be “cheat days.” This often led to five days of broth-based soups followed by a fried free-for-all on the weekends.

These days, I enjoy plenty of little treats any day of the week. No foods are ever off-limits, so when the whim strikes to enjoy a certain flavor, I generally go for it. I have found that this reduces many urges to binge.

Even now, however, my weekend meals are a bit more “junky” than weekday meals. My social plans often wind up involving monster cookies or takeout. Although I order mindfully (such as a delicious zucchini and cauliflower enchilada platter for Saturday night’s dinner,) I still find that my weekend meals are richer and more indulgent than my weekday eats. The beauty of ditching the heavily restricted weekday meals means that these weekend indulgences aren’t met with guilt or followed by a shameful purge in the ladies’ room.

The thought behind “cheat weekends” is that during the week, the dieter should delay their craving until a designated “cheat day”, when they could give in to their cravings without guilt. Unfortunately, this programs the mind to view certain foods as “off-limits.” Naturally, the more forbidden a food seems, the more intense and unshakable the craving for it tends to be.

Even if the dieter is able to wait until the weekend to consume the dish they had been craving, the bliss that comes from a dish hitting the perfect spot is completely lost. The sheer delight that comes with the satisfaction of a sweet or salty craving is reduced and often eliminated. Worse yet, when the dieter has the freedom to stuff her face with whatever she desires, she can easily get carried away with the laundry list of “naughty” eats to be packed into a two-day span. Once Monday rolls back around, the bloated belly from a ridiculous influx of sodium, sugar, alcohol and grease is a sad reminder of the flavorful frenzy.

Personally, I do cut myself a bit more slack on the weekends as far as balanced meals go. If a particular lunch or dinner is void of vegetables or a spoonful of frosting happens to leap from the jar into my mouth…I won’t give it a second thought. As much as I enjoy every single sinful bite consumed on the weekend, Mondays often bring back a craving for fruits, vegetables and extra nutrients. As usual, the body knows just what it needs to regain its balance!

What is your favorite “indulgent” or “dessert-like” breakfast? What are your thoughts on indulgences and “cheat days?”

10 Comments on “Berry Cheesecake Oatmeal”

  1. I agree about the sun! It’s crazy how a day of laying out on the water in a boat in the middle of summer makes me feel like I’ve run a marathon by the end of the day haha. 😉

    This looks SO good! Banana soft serve; and baked sweet potatoes topped with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and almond butter are two of my favorite “treats.”

  2. I loove oatmeal cooked in some frothed milk, then with honey, instant coffee and cinnamon stirred in!!! It is like eating a latte! 😀

  3. leashieloo says:

    I don’t like cheat days. When you’re deprived all week, you’re bound to go INSANE on the cheat day and go much farther than you usually would. I give in to all of my cravings, I just watch my portions and balance them out with a healthier meal later.

  4. I agree. Cheat days are a bad idea, and they reinforce the idea that healthy food is like punishment and unhealthy food is what makes you happy. And that’s so not true!

    That oatmeal does look good — I might try it with some Tofutti cream cheese. My favorite indulgent breakfast is pumpkin pudding!

    And as far as stupid sunburns go… one time I burned my eyebrows. That really hurt!

  5. If my breakfast has chocolate or PB then I feel it’s totally indulging! 🙂 And i love those kind of breakfast!

  6. I live the same way! I eat typically healthy on the week days (not always) and then I allow myself a bit more indulgences because I’m enjoying my free time. I never go crazy, but it just naturally happens when hanging with friends and family.

  7. Tara says:

    My favorite dessert like breakfast is muffins topped with nut butter. I also made a breakfast cookie and topped it with banana soft serve recently for a “pizookie” which was really good!
    I don’t really have “cheat days” because cheat foods usually make me feel sick if I eat too many. I usually just eat mostly healthy and if I feel like eating some unhealthy indulgences I will! I’m spontaneous like that 🙂

  8. I don`t see the point of cheat days … I think that people should have room in their everyday diet for foods that they enjoy, in moderation.

    Oats with chocolate and PB or French toast always seems indulgently awesome to me 🙂

  9. Oh dear, what a scare! Thank God you’re OK. The last “life scare” I had was while driving through blizzards and over tons of icy roads on the way from Oregon to Kansas in a 16-foot moving truck! My husband and I made the move in December and it was the scare of our LIFE! Never again. Next time, we’re selling the car and flying.


Leave a Reply

