Chock Full of Goodness

From the moment I woke up yesterday, I had my fingers crossed that my Tuesday would be better than my Monday. Thankfully, it seemed to work – yesterday was simply stuffed full of amazingness!

A surprise delivery had me smiling before I had even made a dent in my to-do list: “Just Because” roses from The Coach.

blog 519

Such stunning colors to brighten up my desk – and my day!

Although it wasn’t as exciting as a floral delivery, my lunch was pretty poppin’ as well. In less than three minutes, I was getting a killer protein fix from a GoGo Organics Steamed Brown Rice bowl topped with edamame and soy sauce.

blog 518

The rice has a super nutty flavor to it, and it steams in the microwave in under two minutes. Technically it provides two servings…but who’s counting? 😉

After tossing back a few pistachios and dried cranberries, I turned my attention back to the work thang and powered through several hours of research and writing on pet health.

An after-work snack was necessary – who says a girl can’t have her dessert before her dinner?

blog 520

Optima Blueberry Cereal + Almond Milk + Chocolate Chips hit the spot without killing my appetite for the main course – a salad beast from Whole Foods:

blog 522

With the color combination in mind, I officially dub tonight’s dinner a Mardi Gras Salad. The entire box was filled with green, purple and yellow in the form of romaine, spring mix, purple cabbage, onions, peas, feta and a generous drizzle of honey mustard.

I powered through a 20 minute fat-burn workout on the elliptical, eeking out my goal of two miles in 20 minutes with just eight seconds to spare! Naturally, a sweet treat was on my mind the entire time: Chocolate Orange Chia Pudding.

blog 528

After a year of blogging, I finally gave in to the chia seed phenomenon and picked up a small portion from the Whole Foods bulk bin.

blog 533

With my penchant for fruit and chocolate combinations – especially that of orange and chocolate – I decided to give a citrusy spin on the popular chia pudding.

Chocolate Orange Chia Pudding

Vegan, serves one

Ingredients:

  • 1/8 cup chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp orange extract
  • 3/4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp turbinado sugar
  • orange slices (optional, for garnish)

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine all of the ingredients. Stir well!
  • Dish into serving glass and refrigerate for at least one hour.
  • Garnish with fresh orange slices.

blog 541

I loved the refreshing combination of the flavors. The gellish texture of the pudding was absolutely unique, but for someone with a lot of texture hang-ups, I thought it was delicious! Then again, I think just about anything chocolatey is delicious…

Beat that, Wednesday!

Are you a texture person? What are your thoughts on chia seed – or more specifically, chia pudding? Love it/hate it/have yet to try it?

11 Comments on “Chock Full of Goodness”

  1. Those roses are gorgeous!!!!! 😀
    So glad you had a great day!

  2. Just because flowers are the best 🙂

    I’ve purchased chia seeds in the past but haven’t yet made any pudding with them yet!

  3. Pretty flowers! 🙂

    I still haven’t tried chia seeds yet. Been wanting to for a while after seeing it so much in blogs. I’ll have to try some of that pudding once I finally purchase some.

  4. Presley says:

    Lovin the orange/chocolate combo!

    And I have yet to purchase chia seeds… I need to get on that!

  5. Lauren says:

    that cereal looks soooo good… I might have to go make a bowl!

  6. There are no textures that I dislike that I can think of, so I don’t know how much textures matter to me. I really like chia seeds and chia seed pudding, including the texture.

  7. Sophia Lee says:

    I’m rebelling against chia seeds bc I don’t think I need to get it just bc many people are loving it. A silly reason, I know. I’ll try it if it’s free. 🙂

    I’m definitely a texture person though. I love chewy breads, chewy gummy bears, and chewy mochi. 🙂

    • Faith says:

      Haha, I feel the same way about twilight 😉 I’m ready for the chia craze to move along so the price drops…$8/lb is still a little steep!

  8. I think I’m about to give in to the current Chia seed pudding trend…they’re on my shopping list. Your recipe looks yum! Can’t go wrong with citrus and chocolate.

  9. I haven’t tried chia seeds yet! Would like to, but I kind of haven’t seen a recipe that really makes me want to rush out and buy them but I have to admit, this recipe might be the one to change that! Love the combination of chocolate and orange!


Leave a Reply

