Shine On Yoga – Orlando

Yoga Groupon

Does Groupon know how to hook a girl up or what?

Yoga for not even $1 a day? Just the deal I needed to bring me to my first Orlando yoga studio after going over a month without attending a single class.

Monday evening after work I headed over to Shine On for a Level 2 yoga class.

Shine On Yoga Orlando

The studio was tucked into a cluster of buildings in a small neighborhood only a few minutes from downtown (and my apartment!)

Shine On Yoga Studio

After presenting my Groupon, I settled into a spot near the center of the cozy studio and relaxed in child’s pose until the session began.

The Yoga 2 class at Shine On was a perfect segue back into my regular practice – none of the poses required an advanced level of flexibility or balance, but I was able to get deep enough into the postures to feel the benefit of the stretches. I walked away feeling lighter and more open than I had in weeks! I’m definitely looking forward to attending the Vinyasa Flow and Yoga 3 classes for a bigger challenge. They even offer a Healing Belly Dancing class – I’m still on the fence about that one!

Prior to the class, I squeezed in a quick dinner: dandelion greens, tomato and walnut salad topped with a liberal squeeze of 365 Organic Honey Mustard.

Dandelion Salad

Dandelion greens are one of the less common dark leafy greens on the market, yet I snagged them for just $1 at Clemon’s.

Dandelion Salad

While dandelion greens are less “rough” than kale, they are similar in flavor – slightly bitter, with a bit more “punch” than run-of-the-mill lettuce. The Whole Foods honey mustard (one of my all-time favorite honey mustards!) gave just the right touch of sweetness to balance out their semi-strong taste!

The salad filled me up until after class, when I made a green monster as a small snack. The class wasn’t what I would call “strenuous,” but I still enjoyed a little after-exercise fuel.

Fruit and Spinach Smoothie

I kept it simple with a banana, frozen blackberries, spinach, almond milk and a single scoop of Vanilla Bourbon Tera’s Whey.

Even though I wasn’t tired after the class, I slept like a baby. The session was very restorative(although I could definitely have done without the drawn-out crystal bowl therapy during savasana!) and it made me extra sleepy!

This morning, however, I could really feel the rejuvenating after-effects. I’m ready to tackle my Tuesday!

What is your ideal yoga class like? Hot and sweaty? Calm and meditative? Challenging or relaxing?

11 Comments on “Shine On Yoga – Orlando”

  1. So cool that you got that deal on yoga classes!!!! 😀

  2. I love almost all yoga, but my favorite is a hot class. 🙂 (And yoga sculpt of course because I’m in teacher training for it!)

  3. I think I’m in the minority on this one, but I prefer the calmer, restorative classes. They give me the time and the space just to slooooow down…something I rarely do throughout my day. Plus, I hardly ever get such a deep stretch going on by myself.

  4. Sweet deal!

    I looove hot yoga! It’s my fave! I do also love regular Vinyasa with some challenging poses.

  5. You certainly had an awesome and very healthy night!

  6. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my site 🙂 I need to get in on this Groupon craze, I’m clearly missing out!

    My favorite yoga is an ashtanga class in a warm room. Start out slowly and then build in difficulty and pace. You work up a sweat and end up so limber and relaxed. I’m fortunate to have a really well heated apartment so I can do it at home!

    Check out my yoga workout for strength that I just posted, I would love to get your feedback! 🙂

  7. My back doesn’t allow me to do a lot of the poses correctly. I used to take a class here, it was a calm yoga. The timing just didn’t work well with my schedual and other plavces are just to expensive to go.

  8. I prefer a calm but challenging yoga class!
    And the dandelion greens look great in your salad… I vaguely remember my dad trying to make me eat those when I was a child and I hated it! I might be ready to re-try those…

  9. I need a yoga class for people with ADD. I like yoga but I get sooo bored.

  10. What a fresh looking salad and smoothie! Very healthy eats!!

    I have never done yoga, but I probably wouldn’t like the sweaty kind!

  11. […] a good level three power yoga session is exactly what you need. I utilized my second class at Shine On Yoga for a fabulously sweaty hour and a half. I walked in feeling like a rock and walked out feeling […]


Leave a Reply

