Sautéed Dandelion Greens with Sweet Onions and Sherry

If there is one thing I am not, it is posh. For that reason, the majority of the recipes you will find here on Lovely as Charged include basic ingredients, minimal prep time and the option to pack up the leftovers for lunch the following day.

On rare occasions, however, a fancier recipe makes its way into my kitchen. Case in point? Sauteed Dandelion Greens with Sweet Onions and Sherry.

blog 566

As I’d mentioned, I had purchased an entire head of dandelion greens for a dollar at my produce market. I first used them in a dandelion salad, but I found that I preferred a crunchy romaine or mild baby spinach to the bite of the tangier greens.

Round two of cooking with dandelion greens involved a sautéed version, simmered in cooking sherry to temper the flavor and complemented by sweet onions. The sherry balances out some of the tartness, and the dish was reminiscent of sautéed kale.

blog 571

I envisioned this served with a steak and potato dinner (or tofu and potatoes for my vegan/vegetarian crowd!)

blog 569

Sauteed Dandelion Greens with Sweet Onions and Sherry

Vegan, Serves Two

Ingredients:

  • 1 head fresh dandelion greens
  • 1/2 sweet Vidalia onion
  • 1/2 cup Cooking Sherry
  • Salt, to taste

Directions:

  • Sliver your onion and drop into a pan over medium-low heat. Pour half of the sherry on top of the onion and slowly cook – stirring frequently – for twenty minutes (or until the onions are translucent and completely soft.
  • While the onions cook, tear your dandelion greens into small pieces. The stems get softer than kale stems do, yet you may remove the stems for a more tender-textured dish.
  • Add the greens to the pan, followed by the remainder of the sherry. Lightly salt and cook for an additional 10 minutes, continuing to stir frequently.
  • Serve warm.

blog 570

Although I had fun developing a somewhat frou-frou recipe, I much prefer easier, low-key dishes. One-dish-dinners and ten minute prep times make eating healthy so much simpler! Some of my favorite (and most popular) dishes definitely fall in the former category:

Luckily I have plenty more recipes like these planned for future posts! If you’re looking for a vegetarian foie gras alternative, you’ve got the wrong blog!

Do you prefer simple, comforting meals or fancier “specialty” foods?

8 Comments on “Sautéed Dandelion Greens with Sweet Onions and Sherry”

  1. That looks really good! If I ever find dandelion greens here, I’ll make it! 😀

  2. leashieloo says:

    That’s an unassuming dish, one I wouldn’t normally think of but now that I’m ogling your photo…omg. It looks glorious!

  3. Presley says:

    I prefer making simple foods the majority of the time, but it is fun to spice things up every now and then with a really intricate recipe! Even it it’s just to prove to yourself you still got it 😉 haha

  4. I’ve been looking for some veggie side dish recipes. Thanks! I haven’t cooked with dandelion greens, but I love sauteed onions on anything.

  5. kudos to you for eating dandelion greens. i tried them this year and just don’t like them. oh well. that’s what substitutions are for. perhaps i’ll make your dish with spinach 🙂

    • Faith says:

      Haha, substitutions are the bomb. I can totally see why you didnt like them – they definitely have a unique taste. I probably wouldnt have enjoyed them last year, but my taste buds have changed so much! Regardless, spinach would be delish done up in sherry!

  6. Great recipe – Whenever I buy dandelion greens I always have tons left over.

    Now I will have a good use for them!

  7. I love both the simple and the fancy, I just love food!!


Leave a Reply

