Eating for a Good Cause

Rarely do I wake up still full from the previous night’s dinner.

This morning was one of the few exceptions!

Last night, a group of my coworkers headed to Gringos Locos, a Mexican restaurant in downtown Orlando, to support a Relay for Life fundraiser held by one of our office-mates. Discounted burritos for a good cause? Twist my arm a bit more, whydontcha?

Michael and I split an order of guacamole to start.

blog 636

Naturally, I would have liked a larger portion, especially after discovering how perfectly creamy and mild it was.

I followed up with a veggie burrito: Rice, beans, MORE GUAC, cheese, lettuce, jalapenos, black olives, sour cream and queso.

Huge doesn’t even begin to describe it!

blog 638

I had arrived at the fundraiser hungrier than hungry from a killer power 3 yoga class with my boss (can you tell that our office is incredible close? LOVE IT), but 3/4 of the way through, I was stuffed!

I had contemplated a vegan version, but in the end the cheese won out, I think next time to lighten it up a bit, I’d leave off the cheddar, queso and sour cream. Could I get away with making “next time” lunch today? It was that. good.

Our gluttony was slightly lessened by the Drunk Gringo burrito-eating contest that look place later on in the evening.

blog 639

I was pulling for the girl – us chicks can pack it away with the best of ‘em – but Mr. Kilt packed his back in less than 2 minutes.

Perhaps next year I should join the contest? 😉

Have you ever attended – or hosted – a food-based fundraiser? How did it turn out?

See ya on FRIDAY!

7 Comments on “Eating for a Good Cause”

  1. That sounds soooo good! Glad you had a great time! 😀

  2. Yummm Mexican food is definitely one of my favorites when going out to eat!
    My senior year in high school, I helped to organize a pot-luck on Memorial Day weekend to provide food and a bbq for people that were unable to afford it. It was a fun, fulfilling gathering and everyone had a great time!

  3. Shannon says:

    neat idea for a fundraiser! and now i’m craving guac 🙂 yum!

  4. I have never attended a food-based fundraiser but I have to admit, I could probably win a burrito eating contest. I did win a watermelon eating contest when I was a kid.

  5. Presley says:

    Discounted burritos AND it was for a good cause? I’d totally be on board!

  6. leashieloo says:

    Eating for a good cause sounds like the best of ALL worlds!

  7. I have attended many food based fundraisers … they are happening all the time amongst my group of friends.


Leave a Reply

