I Survived!

 I survived my very first attempt at hosting a holiday dinner!

 

Luckily it was just four people! Any more, though, and I think I would have been wiped!

On the menu:

  • Lemon Cream Pasta with Smoked Cheddar and Capers
  • Dill Green Beans
  • Lemon Pepper Tofu (for me and mum) and chicken (for the grandparents)
  • Simple Spinach Salad
  • Vegan Orange Walnut Cake Squares (recipe later this week!)

These cake squares may be one of my favorite desserts I’ve ever created – they’re the lovechild of orange cake and a walnut blondie – and completely vegan to boot!

The pasta dish was good and everyone seemed to enjoy it, but I’m not completely satisfied with the recipe. I was going for a lighter feel (inspired by the lemon cream caper pasta at Sweet Tomatoes this month!) yet the end result was just one step down from an alfredo.

My grandmother’s contribution was a half-empty tray of Godiva-dipped strawberries. Okay okay, maybe it was a full tray before I got my greedy hands on it 😉

The remaining three may or may not have been consumed as I curled up with the May Marie Claire after my family left.

  may marie claire

Well, rumor has it that it’s no longer the weekend (huh?) and that I’m due at work in a few hours (say WHA?) Hopefully you all had a wonderful weekend (and a Blessed Easter, if you celebrated!) Let’s get this week off to a good start!

7 Comments on “I Survived!”

  1. Nice job on being a hostess! Organizing that kind of event can definitely be stressful
    Those dessert squares sound great, anything with walnuts in it has me sold 🙂 can’t wait for the recipe!

  2. Sarah says:

    Great job! The menu looks and sounds so delicious.

  3. Everything looks sooooo yummy!!!! 😀

  4. Congrats on your successful dinner party!
    Everything looks fabulous 🙂

  5. Cannot wait for the orange walnut square recipe. That sounds delicious

  6. Congrats! Hosting an Easter dinner is an achievement! I am scared for my first…
    Luckily these days all I really need to do is show up and eat 😉

  7. Good job on the dinner! The food sounds great, and it must feel good to know that you pulled it off well 🙂


Leave a Reply

