Vegan Orange Walnut Cake Squares

Vegan Orange Walnut Cake Squares

I have half a mind to change the name of these to “any fruit but orange squares.”

On Easter, my mother asked me what went into those “apple-flavored dessert bars”, while my coworkers decided that they tasted like lemon.

I half expect to receive a reader email within the week asking me if I didn’t really mean to type “Vegan Strawberry Walnut Cake Squares.” If said email truly does appear in my inbox, I cannot be held responsible for my actions.

They’re ORANGE. Chewy, cakey, gluten-free and vegan ORANGE cake squares with crunchy walnut pieces, ORANGE frosting and just a subtle dusting of cinnamon.

Orange Walnut Cake

Did I mention that they were flavored with orange? Because they are.

True story.

Don’t believe me? Whip up a batch for yourself! Just don’t tell me if you taste blueberry undertones.

frosted vegan dessert

Vegan Orange Walnut Cake Squares

Vegan, Gluten Free

Ingredients (for the cake squares):

  • 1 cup + 4 tablespoons oat flour
  • 4 ounces Smart Balance Light (approx 8 tablespoons)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar in the raw (turbinado sugar)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal + 2 tbsp water)
  • 1 tsp pure orange extract
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt

Ingredients (for the frosting)

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tsp Smart Balance Light
  • 1 tsp orange extract
  • Freshly ground cinnamon (for garnish – optional!)
  • Additional chopped walnuts (for garnish – optional!)

Directions:

  • Melt the smart balance and whip in both of your sugars, salt and extracts.
  • Stir in your flours and walnuts. Mix until batter is well-combined.
  • Pour into a greased 8 by 8 pan and bake at 350* for 15-20 minutes (until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean – you know the drill!)
  • While the cake squares cool, mix together all of your frosting ingredients. If it feels too runny, add small increments of powdered sugar until it is perfectly firm. Once the cake squares have sufficiently cooled (1 hour +), remove from baking dish and slice into SMALL squares (they are quite rich!)
  • Spread frosting over the top, grate cinnamon as a garnish and place a final walnut sliver in the center of each square.
  • Email Faith to inform her that yes, these truly do taste like orange and not any other random fruit that was not included in the recipe.

vegan frosting and cake squares

The smaller the squares, the better – these are insanely addictive, and I can promise you – eating four bite-sized pieces is more satisfying than one full-size piece!

walnut orange dessert

What’s your favorite baking extract? Have you ever had people completely misestimate the ingredients in a dish you’ve made?

6 Comments on “Vegan Orange Walnut Cake Squares”

  1. leashieloo says:

    Those look really pretty, and delicious 🙂 I’m boring so my favorite extract is vanilla, but my friend uses a lot of coffee extract and it’s sublime!

  2. Haha, I don’t care which fruit they taste like, they look and sound mega delicious!

  3. Oh yay! I’ve been waiting for these. They’re just perrrfect!

  4. Haha! These look absolutely delicious! I’ll have to make them and get back to you as to how they taste! 😉

  5. I haven’t used a lot of extracts, but I would like to experiment more with them. I think it is fun when people can’t guess the ingredients I have cooked/baked with!!


Leave a Reply

