Chickpea and Blueberry Barley Salad

On Friday, I received an email with a recipe for blueberry chickpea burgers. The combination was just odd enough to be intriguing, and just unique enough to stick in my head all weekend.

Instead of taking the burger route, I combined the two featured elements in a light, refreshing, simple spring salad.

chickpea and blueberry barley salad

Chickpea and Blueberry Barley Salad

Vegetarian (with Vegan option)

Serves two

Ingredients:

    • 1 cup cooked/rinsed chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)
    • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
    • 1/2 cup (dry) pearled barley
    • 1/2 cucumber
    • 2 teaspoons honey (vegan substitution: agave nectar)
    • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
    • 1 t/2 tsp fresh lemon juice

Directions:

    • In a medium pot, bring 2-3 cups of water to a boil. Once the water has reached a rolling boil, add the barley, cover the pot, reduce to low heat and allow to simmer until fully cooked and tender.
    • While the barley cooks, shell the chickpeas, rinse the blueberries and chop the cucumber into small slivers.
    • In a small cup or dish, combine the honey/agave, olive oil and lemon juice.
    • Drain and rinse the barley and combine with blueberries, chickpeas and cucumber.
    • Drizzle the dressing over the top, stir and chill.

blueberry chickpea barley

The dish was sweet, light and packed full of vegetarian protein and fiber โ€“ exactly what spring lunches call for!

chickpea barley salad

Have you ever been so intrigued by an odd-sounding ingredient combination that you just had to try it?

9 Comments on “Chickpea and Blueberry Barley Salad”

  1. czechvegan says:

    Chickpea and blueberries? How original! And I bet it tastes great! I love original odd-sounding combos, I love everything from jam and veg-cheese to hummus in my oatmeal or grilled savoury tofu with a raspberry sauce..

  2. this is definitely intriguing me. can’t wait to try it. something totally different!

  3. Faith says:

    This looks fantastic! I love the blueberries for a little sweetness. Great use for barley too!

  4. Mmmm…looks delicious and refreshing! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I’m soooo using this combo next week on my salads. I’m totally intrigued.

  6. I am totally intrigued by different combos, and this is definitely intriguing! I would never think to combine chickpeas and blueberries… looks delicious though!

  7. Another recipe to add to my dinner list for next week!! I have gathered a bunch this evening – it must be my lucky day ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I saw that recipe, too! I saved it b/c I thought it sounded interesting, and your recipe looks great! I love strange combos. Back before I was vegan I had steak with blueberry sauce and it was good. Maybe I’ll make some seitan with blueberry sauce or something…

  9. […] Chickpea & Blueberry Barley Salad from Lovely As Charged […]


Leave a Reply

