Attitude Adjustment

“When life’s treating you like dry sod, kick it back in it’s face – my God!”

Ah, Eminem. Your wisdom never ceases to astound me. If only I’d made that yesterday’s motto, perhaps today wouldn’t have started out on a sour and anxious foot!

Yesterday was an absolute mess. Haley still hasn’t figured out what sort of blackberries are for eating and which Blackberries are not for chomping on. Work was stressful times ten and traffic made me miss a yoga class.

Suffice it to say I spent my Tuesday sulking and sobbing that life was kicking my ass. I woke up this morning dreading the day. All I wanted was to crawl back into bed!

Over breakfast, though, I realized that if I was going to make my Wednesday any better than my Tuesday, I had to stop focusing on the negative and proactively design my day to be less stressful!

healthy breakfast with yogurt

The yogurt mess that was responsible for my revelation:

  • Plain fat free Chobani
  • Flax seeds
  • Organic almonds
  • Crumbled blueberry muffin (takeout from Sweet Tomatoes!)

yogurt with muffins and nuts

As I assembled my lunch, Pandora decided I needed to hear “Blue” by Eiffel 65. You know the song – I’m blue, dabba dee dabba da…

Even though I’m not sure if anyone has listened to this song since its heyday in the 90s – or how it made its way onto a Yellowcard station – it instantly put a silly grin on my face. I can’t help it – I’m a total sucker for music from my childhood!

No matter what stunts I have to pull to make it happen, I’m going to keep this smile for the rest of the day. I’ll manufacture the positivity if I have to – there’s no sense sulking in what’s done and over with!

Even my baby garden is looking forward to a new day:

mini herb

Yep, those are the first little sprouts of an unidentified herb!

I planted basil and cilantro this weekend. Naturally, I forgot to label them, but this one is already trucking along! Any readers know whether this herb is basil or the cilantro?

Breathe in, breathe out…now off to get pretty and duck off to start a better day!

Do you ever have to “trick” yourself into having a good day? How do you banish funky moods? And lastly…any suggestions or recommendations for produce that can be grown in a pot on a warm, sunny balcony?

7 Comments on “Attitude Adjustment”

  1. When I’m having a bad day I really try to think of the big picture – easier said than done of course but spending time in Haiti has also helped my outlook on life immensly! Things don’t seem like as big of deals anymore – and I realize that my life is pretty darn good!

  2. Leashieloo says:

    Today is a total throwback day, I just listened to Moby’s We Are All Made of Stars 😀

  3. I swear funky moods are going around these days….. a walk in some SUNSHINE would certainly be a mood brighener if you ask me (we’ve had many, many rainy days lately). I find a really good workout at the gym also helps to boost my mood. I feel good that I went, not to mention all the endorphins I release.

    Great breakie – next time I’m in the US, I’m going to buy some Chohbani – I’ve been dying to try it. For my salad recipe check out: http://vegvacious.blogspot.com/2011/05/energy-boosting-protein-salad.html

  4. littlehealthjunkie says:

    Mmm your yogurty brekkie bowl looks great! I’ve wanted to go to sweet tomatoes for SOOO long but they don’t have them around here and everytime I see one on vacation we don’t go. boo:(!

  5. I just turn a bad day into a good one, or I try to take a positive outlook on everything, or both!

    I love seeing plants sprouting the first little bud of green 🙂 Makes my heart smile!

  6. When I have a bad day, I go for a walk outside. It makes me feel so much better! 😀

  7. Rosemary! I never manage to kill mine and I am TERRIBLE about taking care of my plants.


Leave a Reply

