(Sometimes) Vegans Eat Weird Things

vegan wrap

I know the general school of thought about (most) vegan food is that it’s just straight up weird. While I’m not a committed vegan, I will typically argue against that overgeneralization. Even though they aren’t for everybody – and that’s okay! – vegan meals can be delicious, hearty, filling… and not weird in the slightest!

veggie and hummus wrap

Well…

Maybe they can be a little weird. If nothing else, they can look somewhat strange!

spinach, sprouts and hummus

My lunch yesterday was one and a half “Ultimate Vegan Wraps”. My favorite garlic and herb wraps got stuffed with all kinds of animal-free food:

  • Green chickpea hummus with red peppers
  • Cucumber slices
  • Spinach
  • Alfalfa Sprouts
  • Hemp Seeds

hemp wrap

Even though it looked rather hairy, the taste and nutritionals more than made up for the awkward aesthetics!

What’s the weirdest-looking food you’ve ever eaten – vegan or otherwise?

9 Comments on “(Sometimes) Vegans Eat Weird Things”

  1. This looks so yummy! Not weird at all 🙂

  2. Picky Nicky says:

    I also don’t call myself a vegan although I do eat a mostly vegan diet… Vegan food is just so yummy and vibrant and fresh 🙂 I think that people think it’s weird only because it’s not your typical burger or hot dog. Which, if you think about it… is even more strange!

  3. Steph says:

    Green chickpea hummus? GREEN chickpea hummus??? what is that? It sounds delish lady!
    This looks super yummy. I know I get weird looks for the food I get excited about sometimes but you can’t judge a book by its cover or a vegan entrée by its escaping tentacles and vines.

  4. I don’t think that looks weird at all, on the contrary it appears to be delicious!
    And this is not that weird but it was for my family…I made quiona for the first time for them and they could not seem to get over its appearance haha. They compared it to eating small chewy pebbles? Alright then…. it was a tasty recipe though!

  5. That’s not weird at all! Weirdest thing I’ve eaten umm… ketchup and corn flakes. I used to LOVE it as a kid.

  6. Chia seed pudding looks pretty weird. That might be the weirdest looking thing I have eaten … but I am probably forgetting something.

  7. Green monsters look weird too.

  8. that doesn’t look too weird!!
    It looks quite fabulous 🙂
    Weird-looking things I eat…green monsters! Grapes with hummus…and nooch!

  9. That looks awesome!

    I think half of what I eat probably looks disgusting to other people. I used to mash sweet potatoes with cocoa powder and that probably looked like poop.


Leave a Reply

