Vegan Maple Breakfast Sausages

I don’t think I’ve ever been quite so excited to share a recipe with you.

As I may have mentioned, I was raised as a vegetarian. Morningstar Farms products were a staple in my house until I was about 12 or 13 years old. I loved the “chicken nuggets” and the veggie bacon, but my absolute favorite meat substitute was the veggie sausage patties.

You see, these soy patties were the perfect vehicle for getting sweet, sticky maple syrup into my belly. I can’t promise that there weren’t several occasions that I ate four or more of those fake sausages with at least a third of a cup of Aunt Jemima’s maple syrup.

If I learned nothing else in those early adolescent years, it was that sausage + maple syrup = a match made in heaven.

blog 920

In more recent years, I’ve realized that my body + meat and unrecognizable ingredients are much less of a perfect match, so I set about on a mission to recreate my old favorite breakfast combo with an all-natural, vegan spin.

blog 931 

Mission accomplished!

Heads up – Target’s Archer Farms 100% pure maple syrup is less than $4 for a 12 ounce bottle!

blog 928

A drizzle of syrup, a pinch of nutmeg and a dash of salt brought this:

blog 918

To this:

blog 925

Perfectly golden, chewy, soft vegetarian “sausages”!

Extra maple syrup to top them is optional 😉

blog 932 

Vegan Maple Breakfast Sausages

Yields six

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup texturized vegetable protein (TVP)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 4 heaping tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • vegetable oil (for cooking)

Directions:

  • Soak your TVP in the water for at least 30 minutes. There may still be some water left over, but it’s better to drain out excess than have the TVP be too dry. If you have extra water, simply drain it out.
  • Mix in maple syrup, flour and spices and stir until your “batter” is evenly distributed.
  • In a small pan, warm a small amount (< one teaspoon) of vegetable oil and spoon in two patties’ worth of batter (approximately two heaping tablespoons for each patty.)
  • Cook for about 45 seconds on each side and flip; repeat in 30 second increments until the patties are firm and just barely beginning to brown.
  • Remove from skillet and allow to cool on a paper towel. Repeat until all batter has been used.
  • Serve plain, on your favorite breakfast sandwich, on biscuits with gravy, in a breakfast burrito…anywhere you would use “regular” meat sausage patties!

blog 944

8 Comments on “Vegan Maple Breakfast Sausages”

  1. I’m so glad you created this recipe! I have had a hankering for a flavor combination like this ever since I saw a Dunkin Donuts commercial advertising their new sausage maple sandwich between two blueberry waffles! It sounds so nasty and amazing at the same time haha
    Thanks for this recipe, I’m trying it soon 🙂

  2. Awesome recipe!!!! Definitely will try this one out soon!!

  3. Leashieloo says:

    I actually prefer the Morningstar sausage of the real thing, your patties look yum!

  4. It’s great to hear you know what foods work for you and which don’t! These “sausages” look great!

  5. Vegan sausages!!!!!!! Wow! I am impressed with your culinary skills – that is cool!

  6. You are awesome. These look so good.

  7. Definitely need to try this! Looks amazing!

  8. […] vegan maple breakfast sausage rounded out the meal. Making this batch, I added a teaspoon of olive oil to the recipe, which made […]


Leave a Reply

