Vegan Broccoli Cheese Soup

Learning that Panera’s broccoli cheese soup was not vegetarian had to be one of the saddest moment of my life.

Exaggeration aside, when I came to the realization that this soup that I’d adored for years was not going to work for me anymore, I had to step up and make a version that was not only vegetarian, but vegan.

vegan broccoli cheese soup

Oh, yes. I went there.

A healthy broccoli cheese soup recipe? Yes, my friends, it’s possible! It’s also possible to enjoy this soup without any animal products or actual dairy (and yes, the cheese really does melt!)

broccoli cheese soup with daiya

Thanks to Daiya, I managed to create a bowl of this classic soup that was just as ooey-gooey, melty and delicious as the version with real cheese and heavy cream.

The relatively high proportion of broccoli to soup also makes each bowl pack in two servings of veggies. How can you say no?

healthy broccoli cheese soup

Vegan Broccoli Cheese Soup

Serves Two

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 2 cups milk substitute (I used Unsweetened Plain Almond Breeze)
  • 1 cup Cheddar-style Daiya shreds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon parsley
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  • In a vegetable steamer (or in a colander over a pot of boiling water), steam your broccoli.
  • In a medium saucepot, bring almond milk to a light boil and stir in Daiya shreds. Stir continuously over medium heat until “cheese” is melted.
  • Drain the broccoli and slice into small pieces; stir into soup.
  • Add in spices and continue to stir for 3-5 minutes. Soup will thicken if it boils – if it seems too thin, crank the heat up a bit; if it seems to thick, add a dash more almond milk and reduce heat.
  • Serve warm!

broccoli cheddar

Take that, Panera!

Have you ever found out that one of your favorite foods did not fit into your diet? What did you do?

12 Comments on “Vegan Broccoli Cheese Soup”

  1. Yuuum!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! 😀

  2. leashieloo says:

    LOVE this combination, your version looks sooo delish!

  3. Megan says:

    ok…so i definitely am not a fan of broccoli, but the consistency and cheesiness of that soup makes me hungry and want to try it!!!! delish!

  4. Jenny says:

    Yumm anything with cheese has my heart 😀

  5. Vegan!!!?? That doesn’t look vegan – I am impressed!!!

  6. Sonia says:

    That looks so perfect! I love cheesy broc soup 🙂
    I am so going to make this when I finish my raw week.
    When I was younger, I didn’t know that there were eggs in quiche! My family is vegetarian and doesn’t eat eggs, and I didn’t know what they tasted like! We used to go to this French restaurant a lot and I’d always get the spinach quiche and I had no idea it was eggs or what it was for the longest time!

  7. socialmediaron says:

    I love broccoli. It looks very delicious…

  8. Christina says:

    OMG it was the best soup ever! So easy, so tasty and so inexpensive! Thank you!!!

  9. have you ever made a big batch?
    do you think it will change the taste if i tripple the recipe to make more than 2 servings?
    let me know!

  10. Ryan says:

    This was great! Used some frozen broccoli florets that were not so great on their own but were perfect in the soup. Thanks so much!!


Leave a Reply

