We Deserve This

Good morning! Better yet, Happy Friday! Who else is ready for some down time?

Even though I was still sleepy when I rolled out of bed, I rolled straight to the kitchen for an energizing yogurt bowl.

yogurt breakfast

As I mixed strawberries, almonds and flax into my plain Chobani, I decided to throw in a few cinnamon raisins for good measure. Great in theory…except for the fact that the only place I can tolerate raisins is in oatmeal raisin cookies (a batch of which may be in our near future – hint hint!)

We Deserve This

Last summer was – without a doubt – one of the best times of my life. I was learning how to be confident in my own skin. I was finally healthy and treating myself with love and respect, and I was enjoying every second of life. Each day was an adventure.

DCNY 072

I was undeniably happy, and it showed – not only to me, but to my students, my friends and my family.

Recently, I’ve been recognizing that same undeniable exuberance in my life – a cheeriness that had been missing for some time. The sad part was that I didn’t even realize that the spark for life had faded out. I just assumed that once you hit the real world with a real job and real responsibilities, the fun of life just peters out and you simply make it through the day.

These past several days, as the silly and optimistic demeanor came back full force, I realized that regardless of where you are in your life, there’s no reason not to be truly, incredibly happy. It doesn’t come from your circumstances – it comes from the way you approach them. Last summer I was sweating it out in a mosquito-laden nature camp with a crowd of cranky, loud-mouthed ten year olds…but I loved every second of it. I had amazing coworkers that made me laugh every second, kids who loved and looked up to me, and a sense of adventure to make that nature camp the sweetest experience I could imagine.

Happiness doesn’t come from an overflowing bank account, a jammed social calendar, a perfect love life or the job of your dreams. It’s always wonderful when these factors come together at once, but in reality, happiness comes from one thing – deciding that you deserve it and setting out to find it.

It comes from deciding that you deserve to love the woman you see in the mirror.

It comes from deciding that you deserve to go to work every morning and do something you enjoy.

It comes from deciding that you deserve to spend time with people who love you, support you and make you laugh.

Our personalities are going to evolve over time. Life shapes us – sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse. We aren’t going to be on top of the world every day…but the bottom line is, we never have to be someone we don’t want to be. We deserve to be the happy, healthy, well-adjusted individuals that we want to be, have been, and can be as long as we realize that we deserve it.

13 Comments on “We Deserve This”

  1. Great post!!! 😀
    Hope you have an awesome weekend!!!!

  2. So awesome!
    I’m still struggling to be comfortable in my skin, but it’s getting better every day.

  3. This is a fantastic post, thank you! I especially love:

    It comes from deciding that you deserve to love the woman you see in the mirror.

  4. Aimee says:

    Love this post and totally agree! Just found your blog and will be exploring some more. Loving what I see so far though!

    Oh, and I can’t even tolerate a raisin in a cookie. Ick. LOL. 🙂

  5. First, your yogurt bowl looks soooo good. Second, so true, so true. Happiness really is a choice – even if you are unhappy with parts of your life, you have to choose to NOT let it overflow into other parts of your life. I’m lucky enough to be a stay at home Mommy right now, but I was always unhappy when I was working (in the traditional sense). I was stressed out all the time and would start to feel angry when Sunday came around because I knew the work week was starting. It was miserable! And it took SO much more energy to feel that way then to just brush it off and accept it. Great post – and I’m happy to hear that you’ve find that positive energy again 🙂

  6. Hey! I just found your blog and love it! Great post, too..I struggled for the longest time trying to be comfortable in my own skin which led me to becoming extremely underweight. There are a few days where it hits again but for the most part I’ve found a nice balance. Happiness is so much about confidence..and seriously, if we can’t be happy with ourselves first, there’s little chance anything else can bring the same joy.

  7. Hey girl, what a great post! I wrote a similar post to this yesterday… we just have to keep reaching and searching for that comfort zone, it is attainable 🙂

  8. Jenny says:

    This is such a lovely post, I love your positive attitude and energy. You have to love who are are and what you do 😀

  9. Kristie says:

    It’s so true, it’s completely up to you, your choices and your outlook that make happiness happen. We DO deserve it! Such inspiring words 🙂

  10. Well said! This is a wonderful post, and I love your attitude.

  11. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    I love this post! Truly words to live by!

    And thank you for stopping by my blog!

  12. Sara K says:

    So true 🙂 I love your voice and positive writing style!

  13. […] An Inspirational post from Lovely as Charged….about what we deserve in our lives and what we should allow ourselves to enjoy simply for being who we are! […]


Leave a Reply

