Frosted Vegan Apple Bread

One would assume that when I go to photograph and blog about a recipe that yields 12 individual servings, you would get to see all 12 pieces.

frosted vegan apple bread

Think again.

frosted apple bread 

If two people can demolish nine of the squares within a 10 hour time frame, I’ll take that as a compliment 😉

apple cake

They may not be pretty – but this may have something to do with our eagerness to dig into the cake. It came out of the oven smelling so incredible that all resistance was futile!

Frosted Vegan Apple Bread

Makes 12

Ingredients (for cake):

  • 1 large apple
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup walnut or pecan pieces
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal + 2 tbsp water)
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Ingredients (for frosting)

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp almond milk or other vegan milk
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance or other vegan butter
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  • In a small dish, combine flax and water, stir and set in refrigerator for 5 minutes or until gelled.
  • Preheat oven to 350*.
  • In a large bowl, mix together apple sauce, sugar, vanilla extract and flax egg.
  • In a separate bowl, combine flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  • Stir dry mixture into wet.
  • Chop apple into fine cubes and stir into mixture along with the nuts.
  • Pour into greased 9 by 5 dish and bake for 50 minutes (or until inserted knife comes out clean).
  • Allow the cake to cool for at least an hour. In the meantime, stir together frosting ingredients. If necessary, add additional powdered sugar to thicken the mixture.
  • Remove cake from dish. Slice, frost and serve.

vegan apple cake 

What’s your go-to baked good when you’re trying to impress?

11 Comments on “Frosted Vegan Apple Bread”

  1. yuuuum!!! I looove apples!!!! Will definitely be trying this out soon! 😀

  2. That icing looks stunning! Yum!

  3. Jenny says:

    This recipe is such win, I love all the yummy icing 😀

  4. strawberrylaces says:

    Hi! I just found your blog and these apple bread things look delicious. I’ll be back to check out more!

  5. omg this looks so good and moist! yum!
    Would you believe, I don’t have go-to anything when it comes to dishes when we have people over? We’ve only had people over a handful of times (we live outside of the city and no one ever wants to come visit!).

  6. That looks amazing with a capital A and a capital MAZING! I haven’t baked in a while, I think it may be time, and I think I need to try this out!

  7. My go-to baked good that always impresses is Angela’s pumpkin gingerbread with spiced buttercream. It is insane.

  8. I think they’re pretty!

    My go-to impressive dessert is always cookies. I make amazing cookies.

  9. Gahhh. That apple bread looks so moist and delicious! The frosting convinced me that I need to make this.

  10. Yumm, I will surely be making this soon 🙂
    My favorite go to recipe to impress is a layered brownie I enjoy making, there is chocolate, rice krispies and peanut butter in this great dessert!

  11. Sarah says:

    Yum! This looks absolutely mouth-watering!


Leave a Reply

