Even Popeye Would Cringe

I’ll admit – these past several days, vegetables have been few and far between. Chinese noodles and oatmeal raisin cookies have been ruling my belly, and – while delicious – it hasn’t been exactly giving me the energy I need to function at my best.

Cue a green monster to get things back on track:

Chicago Bears Cup

Note the cup, my friends. Is it football season yet?

Into the rejuvenating mix:

  • 2 medium bananas
  • 1/4 cup almond milk – I wanted this one THICK! (Ahem. Minds out of gutter. Moving right along)
  • 3 ice cubes
  • 3 LARGE handfuls of water spinach leaves
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon Tera’s Whey vanilla bourbon protein powder
  • 2 tablespoons flax

I definitely took it a little heavy on the spinach. Water spinach has a bolder taste than the baby spinach that I usually purchase, and three handfuls made it quite a prominent taste in the smoothie.

At least it was better than my very first attempt at making a green monster. I can’t believe that was more than a year ago! Where has time gone?

Dear time, could you continue to fly until lunch?

blog 1039 

Bring on the freshness! I can hardly wait for noon to dig into this hugh jass pile of romaine, cucumbers, strawberries, tomatoes, carrots and almonds.

summery salad

When I go for fruits on salads, I need an equally sweet dressing to drizzle on top. A quick Winn Dixie stop snagged just the perfect thing – an all natural fat free raspberry vinaigrette!

blog 1042

Is it lunchtime yet?

But until then, snackage:

fruit and cookies

Fresh blackberries (the best summer fruit ever, in my opinion!) and a cookie for good measure 😉

Haley’s got on the “Momma, ditch the computer and take me outside” face – time for a walk and then work!

What’s your favorite summer fruit? And what are you most looking forward to right now (food-related or otherwise)?

6 Comments on “Even Popeye Would Cringe”

  1. Sarah says:

    Hmm…I think my favorite summer fruit right now is strawberries (but it will change over the next few months, I’m sure).
    What I’m looking forward to?
    -a big hug from my husband after work
    -getting my fetal monitor to work so I can hear my baby’s heart beat!

  2. That smoothie sounds good, I love putting peanut butter in smoothies! 😀

  3. strawberrylaces says:

    I love strawberries and raspberries! But I have to say I’m looking forward to being back in the USA most right now!

    Gorgeous pictures!

  4. I would totally steal that salad from your lunch… rrr did I say steal? I meant… trade…

  5. My favourite summer fruit would probably be cherries, or peaches.

  6. I have no idea what my favorite summer fruit would be..probably mangos! I could eat mangos all day and night 🙂
    The strawberries on your salad look so good!


Leave a Reply

