An Urban Lunch

Remember the droolworthy salad that I’d packed for lunch yesterday? Looks like that will be my lunch today instead 😉

One of my coworkers is leaving on Friday, so we planned a farewell lunch to celebrate his new job. Cue blonde moment; I mentally mixed up the dates – what I thought was planned for Friday turned out to be scheduled for Wednesday instead!

Instead of scarfing lunch at our respective desks, the content team headed over to Urban Flats, a trendy cafe in downtown Orlando. I was impressed by the wide range of vegetarian options on the menu (none were vegan, yet there were plenty of options to be veganized by omitting cheese!)

My choice? The artichoke, wild mushroom and goat cheese flatwich, with a cup of mushroom and brie soup as my side.

urban flats menu

The soup absolutely blew me away. Thick without being goopy, it featured large chunks of specialty mushrooms and just the lightest, creamiest hint of smoky cheese.

urban flats mushroom soup

I was far more focused on consuming said soup than photographing it. It happens.

As for the flatbread itself?

urban flats flatbread 

I swooned.

Let it be known that I have never swooned over a man. A sandwich, however…ohdear.

They were incredibly generous with the rich, hearty mushrooms and the sweet, marinated artichokes. The goat cheese was lightly peppered in – just enough for flavor and texture without making the sandwich too heavy to be thoroughly enjoyed. The entire mixture was spread perfectly evenly through, ensuring that there was no single bite that was less salivating than another.

I was slightly leery of the “flat” bread idea – I’m more of a fluffy, pillowy bread kind of girl. Despite it’s visible flatness, it was perfectly chewy and thick! I passed on the accompanying sauce (presuming it was mayonnaise-based), but the sandwich was so incredibly flavorful that it didn’t need a single condiment.

I shall now proceed to spend the rest of my day contemplating how I can adjust my budget to include a $9 sandwich every day for the rest of my life. Any ideas? 😉

10 Comments on “An Urban Lunch”

  1. Ada says:

    Woah nelly, that flatbread definitely looks drool worthy!

  2. That sandwich looks so goey and delicious!

  3. YUM! That sandwich looks amazingly delicious!! Makes me miss the mushrooms that we don’t get here!!!

  4. Oh my. That flatwich sounds amazing and I need to find one!

  5. Holy moly that sandwich sounds AMAZING. Im slightly obsessed with goat cheese. I can’t believe I have never put artichokes on a sandwich before! Lovely!

  6. I wish I could call all the moments when I forget things and mix-up dates “blond moments.” I guess I could, but I don’t think anyone would believe that coming from a brunette!

  7. Jenny says:

    I’m pretty sure I would swoon over that sandwich too. I’ve never had goat cheese before but it looks so good!

  8. OMG! That sandwich… I die! I need that in my life… stat!

    New to your blog! Happy I found you!

    Mary
    http://delightfulbitefuls.blogspot.com/

  9. I need more sandwiches in my life 🙂

  10. I’m seriously drooling over those pics! I love mushroom soup and need to learn how to make it myself… yours looks fabulous!! I had no idea brie could go in soup!


Leave a Reply

