Drained Brain

Folks, my brain is FRIED! Who in their right mind starts their Monday by researching an article about carbon nanotubes?

By lunchtime, I felt like the contents of my brain perfectly matched the contents of my lunchbox – mush! 

rice with mushrooms and sherry

Thankfully it was more delicious than it looked – I’d steamed some brown rice and stirred in a Morningstar Farms “chicken” patty and mushrooms cooked in a sherry and almond milk sauce. A dollop of vegan cream cheese was thrown in at the last minute for good measure!

I’d also packed some steamed broccoli and carrots to pack in some veggies, but after finishing my main dish, I was definitely more interested in heading out to grab fro-yo than consuming anything green. Indulge my sweet tooth and spend a few minutes away from my desk? Don’t mind if I do!

Mochi Red Velvet 

I filled a cup with my red velvet frozen yogurt (the absolute best flavor Mochi offers) and topped with with white and dark chocolate chips, M&Ms and clear mochi beans. I may love my broccoli, but some days a girl needs her green fix in the form of candy-coated chocolate!

After the fresh air and sweet treat, I felt much more refreshed and ready to handle the second half of my workday. I typically spend my lunch break at my desk, but I definitely need to make it a point to get out for even a few minutes of sun and stretching!

My second wind lasted me just long enough to power through the rest of the day. After walking home and taking Haley out to play for a while, I stirred up a miniature berry smoothie to tide me over until I have the energy to make dinner:

blog 1100

In the mix for a snack-sized smoothie:

  • Four strawberries
  • Ten blackberries
  • Splash of almond milk
  • One ice cube
  • 1 tablespoon protein powder (Tera’s Whey for me!)
  • 1 teaspoon flax seeds

And off goes the computer so I can enjoy a little bit of technology-free time! The new issue of Self is practically begging to be read (and Haley’s belly is literally begging to be scratched!)

Do you eat lunch at your desk or take breaks to get away? How much time do you get away from technology (TV, phone, computer) each day?

6 Comments on “Drained Brain”

  1. I make sure not to watch too much TV or anything but I’m attached to my phone. I get away while I’m on runs, or bike rides though!
    Your rice concoction sound delish! No one said good food is always pretty. 🙂

  2. There are days where I spend way too much time plugged in to technology, but days where I spend more time away from it usually makes me feel more liberated. I prefer to take lunch breaks and enjoy my food as a break in my day 🙂

  3. There are days where I spend way too much time plugged in to technology, but days where I spend more time away from it usually makes me feel more liberated. I prefer to take lunch breaks and enjoy my food as a break in my day

  4. That mush sounds awesome. I realized recently that I have a strange affinity for mushy foods… not sure why that is.

    I don’t have a schedule anymore but in college during my lunch break, I always stopped doing homework and just ate lunch and read the New York Times. Perfect 🙂

  5. your rice meal looks so yummy and creamy!
    When I eat lunch at work I just sit in front of the computer and read blogs or news…I didn’t schedule a lunch break into my work hours so I just eat and “work” lol…

  6. I never eat lunch while working – ever. My job doesn’t require me to be on the computer (actually I am rarely on the computer at work), so I get a lot of breaks from technology.


Leave a Reply

