You, Me at Six

Every night, I set my alarm for six AM, swearing that I’ll make it to the gym when I wake up.

Every morning, I hit snooze until seven AM, swearing that one day I’ll learn that I hate mornings. Looks like I’ll be squeezing in an evening workout tonight!

In my defense, who wants to be sweating through interval sprints when there are smoothies to be enjoyed?

smoothie with cereal

In the mix:

  • 1 depressingly small banana
  • 1 heaping handful of organic spinach
  • 1 scoop bourbon vanilla Tera’s Whey protein powder
  • Splash of Almond Breeze
  • 1 tablespoon flax
  • 2 ice cubes

On top of the finished smoothie, I sprinkled a handful of Dr. Sears’ Zone Diet honey almond cereal. I bought it in high hopes that it would replicate Kashi’s honey almond flax cereal, but unfortunately the flakes were bland and light on texture.

Dr. Sears Zone Honey Almond

At least the nutritional stats were great – high in protein and fiber (14 and 5 grams, respectively) and low in sugar (5 grams). If only it weren’t low in flavor as well!

smoothie and sausage

A vegan maple breakfast sausage rounded out the meal. Making this batch, I added a teaspoon of olive oil to the recipe, which made them a bit more moist – closer in texture to a real sausage patty!

I also brewed the first cup of coffee to grace my apartment on a weekday morning. I usually opt for coffee at work, but our machine was broken yesterday – the horror! Since sipping on tea never gives me the same energy boost, I broke out the trusty single-cup coffee maker that saw me through college and brewed a cup of the good stuff!

natural coffee

Work calls! I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday – there’s still so much to do!

9 Comments on “You, Me at Six”

  1. Picky Nicky says:

    That coffee is making me crave coffee right now 🙂 Good thing I’m hitting up brunch with my best friend soon and all the restaurants around here serve free coffee refills ❤

  2. I looove coffee in the mornings!!! 😀
    That smoothie looks really awesome!

  3. That mug is presh!
    And that green monster is supah green! Mine always look like dirt because I put cocoa powder in them. Delicious, but ugly. 🙂

  4. Those breakfast sausages look SO good. I was the same way with my morning workouts. Once I went to a couple morning classes, my ability to get up in the morning drastically improved. Now, I have time to have my smoothie before I get to the gym! It’s a win, win.

  5. I am the same way about morning workouts! I always think I’m going to do them, but the bed ends up winning in the end. Not to mention, the call of delicious breakfast foods is a hard one to ignore! I’m just glad my schedule is flexible enough to allow me to do evening workouts….

  6. I LOVE that mug! Super cute!

  7. I’m kind of in a gym slump too. Gotta get that motivation! Your coffee mug is really cute!

  8. Hating ED says:

    i’m the same way. every day i have a workout class planned… and i rarely ever get to it. blame it on the snooze button. oops!

  9. I hate mornings too, and there is NO way I could work out in the morning unless I woke up naturally. Alarms SUCK.


Leave a Reply

