Vegan Blackberry Bread

Good morning, and Happy Memorial Day!

I, for one, am completely exhausted after working like a madwoman for weeks and having my face rocked by the Sick Puppies at the House of Blues last night, but for those of you who have the energy to be productive on this gorgeous holiday, do I ever have the perfect recipe for you!

Bonus points if you make an extra blackberry bread loaf to bring to a veteran!

vegan blackberry bread

I’m talking rich, juicy blackberries nestled in a moist, cake-like bread with just the slightest hint of sweetness.

Are you drooling yet, or is it just me?

blog 1197

Blueberry muffins are so last year!

blog 1187

Vegan Blackberry Bread

Vegan, gluten-free

Yields two mini loaves

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup fresh blackberries
  • 1/4 cup soy flour
  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/8 cup almond milk (or other vegan milk alternative)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 flax egg (1.5 teaspoons flax meal + 1 tablespoon water)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*
  • Combine the flax egg ingredients in a small dish and set in the refrigerator to “gel.”
  • In a large bowl, mix apple sauce and sugar. Stir in vanilla and almond milk.
  • Add in flours, flax egg, salt and baking powder. Stir until well combined.
  • Add blackberries (if berries are large, slice in half before stirring them into the batter). Stir until evenly distributed.
  • Divide the batter between two greased miniature loaf pans.
  • Bake for 35-45 minutes (until knife inserted into center comes out clean). Remove from pans and allow to cool on a baking rack.

blackberry loaf

Poured into a cupcake tin, these could easily become blackberry muffins instead of a blackberry loaf! Then again, they’re beyond delicious just the way they are!

blackberry bread

What are your plans for your Memorial Day? If you’d like to peek at some more delicious vegan desserts, check out Katie’s vegan recipe submission page!

5 Comments on “Vegan Blackberry Bread”

  1. That looks delicious. I am a sucker for anything doughy, carby, and cakey 🙂

  2. Mmmm these look delicious! I love blackberries and I have some in my fridge! 🙂

  3. Brittany says:

    Omgaaaah these looks amazzeeing! How about this, I will make my cupcakes..and you make this delicious looking bread and we will have a party of sweet eats!! YUM! I am whoa glad you commented on my blog I will def be creeping on you again! =)

  4. Samantha says:

    oh my god this looks delicious! seriously, i might have just found tomorrow morning’s breakfast…

  5. That bread looks perfectly cooked!!! I love how moist it is – mmmmmmmm!


Leave a Reply

