June: A No-Weigh Month

Good morning! Welcome to June!

Healthy Smoothie in a Bowl

I ushered in the new month with a quintessential summer breakfast – a smoothie in a bowl!

I used the same winning combo from yesterday:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1 scoop bourbon vanilla Tera’s Whey
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon flax meal
  • 1/2 cup rice milk
  • 3 ice cubes

Cocoa powder may be my absolute favorite smoothie ingredient – it actually helps lessen my chocolate cravings throughout the rest of the day!

Gave her a good ol’ sprinkling of flax seeds and Nature’s Path Blueberry Optima and she was good to go!

Green Smoothie with Cereal

No-Weigh June

Whenever I hear a blogger {or a real-life friend} mention not owning a scale or not knowing what they weigh, I can’t help but wonder: How do they do it? How do they not hop straight on the scale as soon as they wake up?

If you want to put it like it is, weighing myself has been my last hold-out from my eating disorder. I’ve established healthy eating habits and no longer use restriction as a coping mechanism; I’ve learned how to stop a binge in its tracks and I exercise for strength and stamina, not to burn calories. I’ve been very blessed to move beyond those disordered eating habits…yet I still hop on the scale daily. While I can honestly say that I don’t allow the number to influence my eating habits, I still have been a slave to the number.

In reality, I understand that it’s just that – a number. A silly, ever-changing number that doesn’t change how I look, who I am or how hungry I am. Unfortunately, what it has the power to change is my mood. A “low” number always makes me feel victorious, as though I’m proving to myself that I can eat when I’m hungry and not gain weight. A “high” number can turn a good day into one where I wonder what I did “wrong.”

Healthy? I don’t think so. Acceptable? Definitely not.

That’s why I’m packing my scale into the trunk of my car for the entirety of June. I’d love to throw the contraption over the side of my balcony, but I’m not sure that my apartment manager would be thrilled with that idea. In reality, I’m also convinced that without weighing myself every day, I’ll gain twenty pounds without knowing it. Rationally, I understand that it’s impossible, but irrationally, I’m terrified that it will actually happen.

By getting rid of my scale {albeit temporarily}, I’m hoping to distance myself from the number and learn even further how to listen to my body. If that means I lose weight, then I lose weight. If that means I stay the same or gain, than that too will be in response to the needs of my body.

I’m ready to break my dependence on this stupid scale!

What’s your position on weighing yourself? Do you own a scale? How often do you use it? Have you ever made a conscious decision to ignore the number?

14 Comments on “June: A No-Weigh Month”

  1. Emma says:

    I’ve distanced myself from the scale recently as well. Ok I’ll be honest, my dog peed on it, breaking it, and I don’t really feel like buying another torture device. But it’s kind of awesome to not have the scale determine the start of my day/mood. It’s kind of freeing, which is something I never thought I would be saying!!

  2. O.C. Ziegler says:

    After reading a post on Amanda’s blog about weighing yourself I just recently made I choice to ditch my scale for this month too! I hate feeling like that little number can determine how my day starts off sometimes. I really try to ignore it and it has gotten easier. I’m just worried I’ll get anxious with not knowing for a whole month! If you need support I’m here for you girl! Stay strong.

  3. love this idea! hope it goes well for you 🙂

  4. congrats on your goal for june!
    I stopped weighing myself in December, and it has been amazing. I measure my weight by how my clothes fit, and it hasn’t changed at all. I feel SO free from being enslaved by a number.

  5. Sarah says:

    I find I tend to have a healthier mindset when I distance myself from the scale. Just recently, I had to tuck it away again. It’s a little scary to watch my body change and gain weight as this baby grows, but I know my focus needs to be elsewhere. So for now, I’ll be weighed only at appointments- even though those appointments have been taking place in the afternoon, after I’ve had lots of water and at least two meals (!).

  6. Tina says:

    I think this is a great thing. You are going to learn a lot about yourself in this next month. I think I’m going to join you. I weight myself not only in the morning but a few times a day.

  7. myhighonlife says:

    I would absolutely love to ditch the scale for a month! Sadly, I’m in the Army and somehow just borderline for making weight [which I dont understand and is a whole nother story…] so I have to pay close attention. Great idea!!

  8. Good for you, Faith! The scale was the last step for me too. It’s hard to do, but you really just have to throw it out, give it to a friend, or lock it up somewhere far far away. I ditched my scale years ago and couldn’t be happier about it. When I go to the Dr for my yearly checkup I ask them to weigh me so that I cannot see it, same goes for when I meet with my trainer. I feel good, I think I look good, so why should I let a number dictate my feelings?

  9. I weigh myself about once a week … The number fluctuates between the same 3 pounds and always has, but I think I still weigh myself just out of habit.

  10. Brittany says:

    I have been going back and forth with my scale..I was able to go weeks without using it, although I still stared at it every time I walked into the bathroom. And then lately I have been weighing myself everyday, and not been happy with what I have seen. Despite my efforts to eat well and workout. I know I need to take a step back from the scale. I said to myself this morning, no more scale for a while..and I am going to accompany you on your no weigh month now. I hadn’t set a specific amount of time until reading this post. So now I am excited to break the bond with the scale for a month!

  11. Good for you for getting rid of it for a month! I have a scale but rarely use it. I’ve probably weighed myself 2x in the last 6 months. I used to weigh every morning, but I’ve been at the same weight (give or take 3-5 pounds)for so long that I guess it seemed pointless!

  12. Jenny says:

    I use to depend on my scale everyday to give me reassurance that I wasn’t gaining weight. I’m happy to say I ditched the scale. It’s still in my room but I have no need to weigh myself anymore. I’m happy with my body and I don’t need a silly number to determine my day 😉

  13. I weigh myself about once a week. I think no weigh in June sounds like a great idea. 🙂

  14. I think that’s great! I actually don’t weigh myself anymore — I just stopped maybe four months ago. I realized that it wasn’t doing anything for me, and if it was a number I felt bad about, it would ruin my mood, so it wasn’t helpful. Also, for some reason I’m someone whose weight fluctuates a LOT – ten pounds up or down is totally normal – and it would flip me out. I’m not even tempted anymore, and all I care about is that my clothes fit!


Leave a Reply

