Like Time Never Passed: A 2010-Style Weekend

Oh, Monday, how you flew here! I spent a glorious weekend in Lakeland reliving 2010 – one of my favorite years of my life (so far!) Where has the time gone – and how did it go so fast?

I’d driven back to Lakeland to see old friends, and on the way, I passed the school where I used to work. (For new readers, when the blog began I was a teacher at an after-school and summer program for our inner city kids.)

picnic  bench in the shade

Even though it was exactly the way I remembered it, it felt so strange seeing the playgrounds deserted. I seriously missed my munchkins!

older school bus

I grew SO much with those children, and I had some of the most amazing experiences with them. I never thought I would miss teaching, but for a moment, I actually did! I can’t believe it’s been a year since the most amazing summer of my life.

After a seriously nostalgic moment at the school, I headed to my old foodie stomping ground to grab some fuel for a run.

lakeland publix

Random Trivia Tidbit: that Publix was in the Southgate Shopping Center, where Edward Scissorhands was filmed. That’s Lakeland’s Claim to Fame!

edward scissorhands southgate

I snagged the very first “nutritionally-conscious” food I’d ever bought: a chocolate brownie Clif Bar. 

chocolate brownie clif bar brownie clif bar

In all seriousness, when I’d started the blog in 2010, these chocolate Clif Bars were one of my daily foods. My university cafeteria sold them as their version of “healthy food”, and I started purchasing them for snacks instead of Butterfingers. Little did I know it would be the first of many little healthy swaps!

In keeping with my 2010 throwback mindset, I cranked a Rise Against Pandora station as I headed out to Lake Hollingsworth for a run (and walk – hello, humidity!)

lake hollingsworth

Aside from the people, jogging the lake is seriously one of the things I missed the most!

Florida Southern College

lake hollingsworth lakeland

After the run, I headed over for some much-needed friend time. We snuck in a stop at BD’s Mongolian Grill (insanely awesome), a screening of X-Men (insanely odd) and a Sunday boating and tubing on the Chain of Lakes (insanely serious unexpected workout!) I tucked away the camera and decided to just live those experiences rather than photograph them…

But I busted the camera back out first thing this morning to catch breakfast!

Whole Foods Honey Crunch & Oats

Since Whole Foods was right on the way as I drove home, it was only logical to stop in and purchase a few supplies for the week 😉

One of the picks was 365 Organic Honey Crunch & Oats cereal. It seemed like it would be similar to my favorite Kashi Honey Almond Crunch (another favorite meal choice in my dorm circa 2010!)

blog 1281

I was on board with the 5g of sugar per serving, but because the protein was a little lower than I’d have liked (only 2 grams in 3/4 cup), I bumped it up with the addition of a few slivered almonds and chia seeds – plus a few flax seeds for those Omega 3’s.

365 honey crunch and oats cereal

Boom. And that’s how it’s done.

Since it’s not 2010 anymore and I don’t get to mosey into work at 2 p.m. after my classes get out, I better get my behind off to my “grown-up” job. Catch ya later!

Do you ever go back to places you used to live, work, go to school, etc…just for “old time’s sake?”

5 Comments on “Like Time Never Passed: A 2010-Style Weekend”

  1. Aaaaw sounds like a great time!!!!!! 😀 So glad you got to visit your old town and friends!

  2. I love going to the campus where I attended college! So many fun memories. 🙂

  3. It was a gorgeous evening yesterday, so my hubby & I took a drive and went through my old stomping grounds past my 2 childhood homes – I grew up in the country so we drove around the winding ol’ backroads. It was very relaxing and brought back lots of great childhood memories!

  4. sunshinevegan says:

    Sounds like you had a really great weekend! Tubing is soo funn 🙂
    And I get nostalgic every time I walk by my old elementary school. It’s so cute!

  5. That cereal bowl is gorgeous!

    I used to go back to my old elementary school, but haven’t in SO long. I was actually a substitute teacher there a few times, so it became more of a work place, less of a memory. I do think it would be fun to go back to my old high school though!


Leave a Reply

