Chocolate Wheat Bran Breakfast Cookie

Good morning!

After months of setting my alarm for six a.m. and successfully snoozing through my morning, I finally dragged my sleepy behind out of bed for an a.m. workout.

Short and sweet was the name of the game! I hopped straight onto the treadmill for a quick and dirty interval run.

Distance Speed
0.00 – 0.10 3 mph
0.10 – 0.20 6 mph
0.20 – 0.30 7 mph
0.30 – 0.40 5 mph
0.40 – 0.50 6 mph
0.50 – 0.60 7 mph
0.60 – 0.70 5 mph
0.70-0.80 6 mph (incline level 2)
0.80 – 0.90 7 mph (incline level 2)
0.90 – 1.00 5 mph (incline level 2)
1.00 – 1.25 8 mph

I did a short cool-down on the elliptical before high-tailing it back to my apartment, where a new breakfast idea had been “cooking” since the night before.

wheat bran breakfast cookie

Even though I’d never tried the Fitnessista’s original breakfast cookie, I knew I wanted to whip up a similar stir-and-chill breakfast for after my workout.

wheat bran breakfast cookie

Ohmahdear.

New. Favorite. Summer. Breakfast.

breakfast cookie with chocolate and berries

Chocolate Wheat Bran Breakfast Cookie

Vegan, high fiber

Serves one

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup vegan milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 2 tablespoons chocolate-flavored protein powder of choice
  • 1 tablespoon flax meal
  • 1 tablespoon finely sliced almonds
  • 1 tablespoon apple sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Toppings of choice (I used chocolate chips and blueberries)

Directions:

  • Stir all ingredients (except for toppings) together.
  • Spread evenly across a medium-sized plate.
  • Place in refrigerator overnight.
  • In the morning, add toppings and eat!

I polished off the “cookie” and went back for a second serving of fruit.

organic peach

Looks like I ended up with 20 extra minutes at the end of my morning routine – duly noted for tomorrow morning!

When it comes to workouts, are you a morning person or a night owl?

8 Comments on “Chocolate Wheat Bran Breakfast Cookie”

  1. I prefer morning workouts….I feel like they give my day a great start! 😀

  2. Sarah says:

    Hmmm…if I get to choose, I think I’m more of a mid-morning workout person. But I am at work around 7:30 on week days, so that’s just not going to happen most of the time. Next best time is right after work, I think.

  3. Yum, looks delish! A little word to the wise, though, in case someone is reading your blog and is new to the GF diet…. wheat bran does contain gluten, so this delicious looking cookie is not actually gluten free. I’m going to have to experiment with some substitutes for the wheat bran though because this looks great!

  4. I love morning workouts! Once I’m out of bed I’m good to go and I feel more energized through the day. I also love chocolate for breakie – this looks awesome!

  5. Faith says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about the Fitnessista’s breakfast cookie but I’ve never tried it! Yours sounds great and I bet it would be a great post-workout snack too!

    I prefer AM workouts…not only do they energize me for the day, but I find that they set me up for healthier choices throughout the day.

  6. Good for you for getting up for a workout! I am definitely a night owl, and could never get up early just to workout. If I woke up naturally, then I could …


Leave a Reply

