Adjusting and Adapting

Adjusting to a morning workout routine is hard!

tired dog

I want no part in this, mommy. Just let me go back to sleep. 

If you can move beyond the minor matter of being awake before the sun is, you still have to deal with the “get everything done before work” debacle. I’m still trying to figure out how to offset some of the rush by handling as much as possible the previous evening.

Make-ahead breakfasts help, but this morning, I was in the mood for something savory rather than the overnight oats I’d prepped last night.

In about three minutes, I’d defrosted some frozen kale and plopped it onto a Whole Foods whole wheat English muffin with a sprinkling of cheddar Daiya. It hardly put a dent into my time budget, but it definitely put a dent in my post-workout hunger!

kale and cheese sandwich

I grabbed a few snacks for later down the road:

organic apple and pear

The promise of a warm cup of coffee after settling in at work sounds incredibly appealing right now!

How do you adjust to a change in your routine? How long does it usually take you to feel “solidified” in the new schedule?

7 Comments on “Adjusting and Adapting”

  1. Sarah says:

    You know, I bought a bag of Daiya because of your suggestion. I’m so glad I did!

  2. Gen says:

    I take a while to adjust to a new routine….but once I get into one, then its as if I always had it! 😀

  3. It takes me at least a couple of weeks to get into a new routine and feel “normal” ~ I recently changed to early morning workouts and now I’m loving it, but it definitely does require some more pre-planning. I’m loving your quick breakfast!

  4. sunshinevegan says:

    It takes me about a week to settle in to a new schedule. That looks like a nice quick breakfast for after a workout 🙂

  5. Yum Yucky says:

    Blarg. I am going through this right now. I’ve been working out on the mornings for a long time now, but my lack of morning organization and wanting to jump on the computer in the a.m. eats into some of my workout time. Right now I’m getting in an hour BUT THEN having to rush to get ready for work. I know what to do to fix this. Just gotta do it. Like right now.

  6. I agree! The morning thing is so hard! I am still adjusting. I was planning on going for a run this morning, but it didn’t end up happening… and then today ended up being an off day. It is SO much easier to get it done in the a.m. so I am still working on the solidifying!

  7. I have the entire summer off from work, and I find it hard to get into a new routine when I don’t have a routine that I have to follow. I feel like I waste my first couple weeks of holidays sleeping in too much and lounging around too much because I don’t know what to do with myself. I hope to be more productive this year!


Leave a Reply

