Hey Look, There’s a Hole in my Body

In contrast to Fridays, Thursdays are so boring.

Fridays bring the promise of an entire weekend of shenanigans. Fridays are bright and fun and a little bit crazy. Thursdays, on the other hand, are quite tame. You’re so close to the weekend – but not close enough to celebrate. Your brain is entirely over your week’s to-do list, but you still have to power through eight more hours on the clock before unwinding.

Unless, of course, your Thursday evening is spent at a tattoo parlor…

pierced navel

Oh hey, there’s a rhinestone in my navel. How did that happen?

I suppose the spontaneity began earlier on in the day, when I decided on a whim to swing by Cafe Annie’s for a mid-work snack (and leftovers to pack for lunch tomorrow!)

pita bread

As much as I love Cafe Annie’s authentic Mediterranean food, their pita bread is always underwhelming. Too much density, not enough puffiness!

That didn’t stop me from eating several slices though, along with the miniature salad doused in tzaziki!

Cafe Annie's Orlando

After work, I stopped at the Bloodmobile to do the blood donation thang:

orlando bloodmobile

Apparently, having a needle in my arm for 10 minutes triggered the desire to have a needle in my navel for 10 seconds.

I can’t stop looking at the sparkliness! Top that, Friday!

Do you have any tattoos or piercings? Have any of them been a spontaneous idea, or were they all thought out and planned? Would you ever consider another? I love how tattoos look on other people, but I’m too big of a wuss to get one myself. With three ear piercings and the new belly ring, I’ve run out of things I’m willing to pierce!

15 Comments on “Hey Look, There’s a Hole in my Body”

  1. MLH says:

    My husband took me to get my belly button pierced because I wanted to reward (and motivate) myself for losing my first 7 pounds. Well, everything went great – it looked great – I loved it. The most fun was picking out new bling for the belly. BUT for some reason, as I lost more weight my body seemed to push the piercing out (eventually it did push it out – the flap of skin broke in half!). So, now I am debating on getting it done again, but think I will wait until I get to my goal weight. It looks great – take care of it so it doesn’t get infected!!! Love reading your blog – keep up the nice work. TGIF!!!

  2. Gen says:

    Don’t have any piercings or tattoos……I might consider one or the other in the future though…:P

  3. leashieloo says:

    No tattoos, but I do have my naval pierced and then of course, my ears.

  4. I’m lovin’ your new belly button ring 🙂

    I’ve always wanted a tattoo, but I want it to be something that means something and not a spontaneous thing. Someday I will get one!

  5. Aimee says:

    Just the usual ear piercings! 🙂 I used to have more holes in my ears, but lately I find myself forgetting to put in earrings and my other holes grew in. Cute belly bling!

  6. Fun! I remember getting my belly button pierced when I was 16. My mom took me (she regretted this years later when I had a body FULL of piercings). For piercings: they were pretty spontaneous. When I had money, I got one. I’ve since removed most of them except my belly button, septum, and one in my ear.
    I love the idea of the red bus, that’s SO cool!

  7. Rachel says:

    I love the idea of tattoos, but I’d be afraid to get one because I get really bored with fashions and designs really easily. I would probably regret having something that permanent one day.

    But we shall see, maybe this will change 🙂

  8. I’m a wuss about tattoos and piercings. I don’t even have my ears pierced!

    And that’s my fun fact for the day. 🙂

  9. cardiopizza says:

    I got a tattoo when I was 18 and it was completely spontaneous. I still don’t understand how it happened haha!

  10. tickledtofu says:

    I really want to get a nose piercing but my mom won’t let me :/
    I suppose I’ll have to wait another year!

  11. I just have my ears pierced and that’s enough for me! 😉 When I got my ears pierced on my 13th birthday (family tradition), they used two guns, one on each ear. At the same time, the guns were supposed to piece the ears… but only one went all the way through. The other one only went halfway through! It hurt!!!!! And I think I was forever scarred for life. 😉

  12. Amy Usher says:

    Hey girl! One hole in each ear, in the normal earring-hole spot. (I used to have a cartilage piercing in one ear…can’t even remember which, it’s been 4 years since I took it out when I started student teaching). Also, I have a tattoo on my right foot that says “Amor Vincit Omnia” which means “love conquers all” in latin…from the Canterbury Tales. 🙂

    Ugh I get so irritated with FLAT pita bread…seriously, it needs to be puffy and soft and warm to be an optimal pita.

  13. I only have my ears pierced … no other piercings and no tattoos. You have a great body girl!!

  14. […] Yesterday, I popped online to check the wellness screening results from when I last donated blood. […]

  15. […] Lebanese restaurant in Orlando’s business district. I’ve ordered takeout from Annie’s several different times, but this was the first time I ate […]


Leave a Reply

