Chicken Fingers for Breakfast

As a kid, when I went on road trips with my grandparents, every breakfast we didn’t get at the hotel was eaten at Huddle House. They tried to steer me towards the pancakes and toast, but I had my mind made up on my order before I even walked in the door: chicken tenders and mozzarella sticks.

I argued that fried chicken and fried cheese were really no different than cheese toast and chicken sausages. After all, breakfast was just another meal in the morning and anything on the menu should be fair game!

Waking up with a serious savory tooth attack called for me to bring the untraditional breakfast back – vegetarian style, of course 😉

fake chicken and eggs

Gardein seven grain crispy tenders to the rescue!

I scrambled a serving of egg beaters to make it feel more like a traditional breakfast.

chicken and eggs

I’ve always been skeptical of faux meats – the texture of most fake chicken products usually freaks me out. I was pleasantly surprised by the Gardein chicken tenders. They were very similar to real chicken, but in a good way!

Gardein crispy chicken tenders

I only wish that the nuggets were a little less greasy. I know chicken fingers are oily by nature, but these felt a little over-the-top, even though two nuggets only contained a respectable 3.5 grams of fat. It’s nothing a little blotting can’t fix!

Are you a fan of untraditional breakfasts? If you’re vegetarian, what are your thoughts on fake meat products?

7 Comments on “Chicken Fingers for Breakfast”

  1. Gen says:

    Never had chicken fingers for breakfast…….sometimes I’ll eat some cold pizza, though! 😛

  2. Okay I could totally go for some chicken tenders now hmmm… lazy day dinner tonight? I think so! 🙂 I’m totally with you on that argument though, it’s not much different than eating bacon or sausage.

  3. Yum! I’ve never had these chicken tenders before and I’m going to have to try to find them! Great argument for why you should have them for breakfast LOL. I love grilled cheese sandwiches for breakie. It’s my ‘go to’ if I’m starving and need something quick and satisfying – if I’m feeling the ‘breakie’ vibe, I might throw on a slice of tomato.

  4. Sarah says:

    I would eat that for breakfast! I don’t eat meat, either, and I’m fine with eating faux meat replacements once in a while. It’s when I eat them on a regular basis that I start to feel not as stellar physically. But eating them is way better than eating meat, for my own purposes.

  5. Rachel says:

    I eat whatever I feel like, whether it’s oats or even roasted veggies! Usually something sweet, to kick my sweet tooth for the day. Actually, day old refrigerated pizza (the good kind, from wood burning oven pizza restaurants) is a family favorite for breakfast!

  6. Jenny says:

    I don’t think i’ve ever had chicken tenders for breakfast lol but my friends love having pizza for breakfast. I’ve never done that either lol I’m a big cereal and oat junkie when it comes to my morning meal 😉

  7. I really like nontraditional breakfasts, and ate them for MANY years (including things like steak and potatoes, or mac and cheese, or whatever).

    Fake meat products aren’t really my thing … except veggie burgers … those are okay.


Leave a Reply

