The End of the ‘End

Weekends ending is always bittersweet. I love the freshness of the new week, but I hate saying goodbye to soffe’ shorts and lax schedules!

I don’t know about you all, but weekends should begin at noon on Fridays like they did in university!

The Coach dropped by my office Friday afternoon and surprised me with a box of sushi from our favorite downtown sushi restaurant.

sweet potato tempura avocado sushi

You know someone is your best friend when they remember to ask the sushi chef to add avocado to your sweet potato tempura roll!

sweet potato roll with avocado

Right after work, I rolled by apartment to puppynap Haley and set off on the two hour drive to my grandparent’s house to celebrate Father’s day.

dog out car window

She’s too quiet of a travel companion!

One thing I love about my weekends home is that my mother and grandmother insist on putting food in my face nonstop. I’m sure not one to complain!

greek yogurt with fruit

toast and scrambled eggs

fresh canteloupe chunks

Buddhist's Delight

yogurt berries walnuts

In the small town where they live, a restaurant opening is a big event! Of course, in my world, a new sushi restaurant is a huge event, so naturally I convinced my mother to head to lunch with me!

wasabi sushi grill

We split a plate of vegetable tempura to start, and we both were impressed by the assortment.

vegetable tempura

Sweet potatoes, rutabaga, zucchini and broccoli all got the batter-fry treatment.

We also plowed through (well…I plowed through…she gracefully consumed) four different vegetarian rolls: shitake mushroom, sweet potato, avocado and an asparagus/cucumber/avocado combo.

vegetarian sushi platter

I’m not entirely sure if I had enough sushi this weekend!

Regardless, here we are back at Monday. There’s lots to do – I better get crackin!

What was the best part about your weekend? Anything you ate ridiculous amounts of?

5 Comments on “The End of the ‘End”

  1. Gen says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend!!! 😀 I loove sushi…its been forever since I had any, though!

  2. Rachel says:

    The photos in this post are beyond amazing. I had a really great meal friday night, but beyond that my weekend eats were definitely limited.

  3. The best part of my weekend was watching my hubby kick butt in his triathlon.

  4. […] When lunch rolled around, I enjoyed the leftover Chinese food that I finagled away from my mother after our weekend together. […]

  5. […] took all of the elements of my favorite sweet potato and avocado sushi roll and plopped them into a one-dish dinner! Salty and chewy seaweed, deliciously sticky […]


Leave a Reply

